I’m Going To Disneyland!

If you have ever met me in person, or read any of my blog posts, you might have come to realize that I’m a little quirky and sometimes not ready to be let lose in the wild without a chaperon.  You might have also realized that I am a big dork who likes all things wireless.

This past February I went to WLPC in Phoenix and near the end my co-worker told me he was done and his brain had turned to mush and I just looked at him like he was crazy.  I was ready to go for a second full week and then maybe, just maybe, I would be done and ready to head back to the real world.

Unlike my co-worker, I love this stuff!  I have a commercial radio license from the FCC (aka as a GROL, General RadioTelephone Operators License) and an amateur radio license.  When I’m not doing wireless for work, I’m doing it as a hobby.  Back to the quirkiness, and the title of this post; I’m not really going to Disneyland.  Or Disneyworld, or any Disney typed themed resort.  I’m going somewhere better!

I’m going to Mobility Field Day as a delegate! MFD3 here I come!

For me, that’s better than Disney or Universal or any of that nonsense.  I’m going to talk wireless for three, count them THREE, straight days!  I get to focus on wireless and mobility for three days and geek out with some of the brightest minds in the business.  When I got the invitation to go, it was just like that guy on TV going up to the quarterback who just won the Super Bowl.

If you didn’t think I was quirky and weird before, I think this might have just cemented it for you.

Honestly, it is a privilege and an honor for me to be invited to be a MFD3 delegate.  It’s hard to believe what has happened in my  life since I got plugged into the Wi-Fi community and started the CWNP certification process, just a short 18 months ago!  I’m not sure that I could have scripted what has happened, there is no way I would believe it.

Now, just like with all of the Disney properties, of which I have never been to any of them, I have never been to Mobility Field Day, or Tech Field Day, as a delegate.  I’ve followed those who have, and have read the posts and discussions and it does leave me nervous.  What if I geek out too much?

In that spirit, I have decided to set some ground rules for myself.  If anyone thinks I am missing something that will keep me in line, feel free to let me know.

  1. I will not ask for autographs, unless someone else does first.
  2. I will not be the first one to jump up and down on my chair.
  3. Or the table.
  4. I will take good notes so I can blog about the whole experience.
  5. I promise to keep all my blog posts less than 5,000 words.
  6. I will take pictures, and occasionally, allow pictures to be taken of me.
  7. I will not come home and talk incessantly to my wife about everything that happened.  (Actually, she doesn’t read my blog and as I will probably break this rule, oh well!)
  8. I promise to have a great time!

Now, number 8 is pretty simple and guaranteed to happen, but I needed to throw that in there to finish up the list.

My plan is to blog about the run up, and then the days as best I can, and then the presentations will come separately as I get the technical details straight.  That’s my plan at least.

One thing you might have noticed that is missing in my rules, and I’m not adding in, is I will more than likely talk the ear off of the other delegates to the point that one will begin to question my parentage.

That, my friends, is a promise!

One comment

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.